-
Nardis of Dallas
A clothing manufacturer once situated amongst a plethora of other Jewish businesses and homes on Poydra (now Griffin) Street.
-
Sanger's
Sanger Bros.' Department store as opened by several of the Sanger Bros. who decided to make North Texas the home of their commercial efforts following the Civil War.
-
Titche-Goettinger
The first floor sold impulse goods such as gloves, hats, purses and hosiery...
-
E.M. Kahn Company
E.M. Kahn Company was another clothier in Dallas, founded by Emanuel Meyer Kahn, a French-Jewish immigrant, in 1872.
-
Neiman Marcus
Neiman Marcus Flagship store Main St.
-
David Fair Pawn Store
A family owned pawn shop, David Fair Pawn was one of the earliest Jewish owned pawn shops in Dallas.
-
Linz Brothers Jewelers
The Linz brothers' (Elias, Joseph, Ben, Simon, and Albert) North Texas business legacy began in Denison, TX in 1877 repairing and selling watches, and selling diamonds to ranchers.
-
Thanks-Giving Square
Thanks-Giving Square at Ervay and Pacific in Downtown features a park area with benches, a water feature, and non-denominational chapel centered on the notion of gratitude.
-
Sanger-Harris Department Sto
Sanger-Harris formed following a merger of Sanger Bros. and A. Harris in 1961. This new flagship store was completed in 1967 and remained operational for 20 years.
-
Zale's
Zale’s was started by Morris B. Zale in Wichita Falls, TX in the 1920s, in partnership with his brother and brother-in-law. In addition to jewelry, for which the company is still most recognized, they also sold small electronics, appliances, and housewares.
-
Abe's Colony Club
The Colony Club was owned by Abe Weinstein, but this is not the first club under Weinstein’s belt. He originally opened the Triangle Club in the early 1930s, which was located on Main Street, and later Abe & Pappy’s, at 1322 Commerce with then business partner, Carl Dolsen.
-
Dreyfuss & Son
Dreyfuss & Son was opened by Gerard Dreyfuss and his son Sol in 1911. Prior to opening this business, Gerard had been closely intertwined with the Kahn Family and E.M. Kahn department store. The 1911 location of Dreyfuss & Son was at Main & Murphy in Downtown Dallas.
-
A. Harris & Co.
Adolph Harris was born in Prussia in 1842, and later immigrated to Galveston. He operated businesses with a partner with the last name of Fox (Harris & Fox), his brother Jacob (Harris Brothers/A. Harris & Brother), and later his in-laws (Fellman, Grumbach & Harrs).
-
Ritz Delicatessen
Max Breitbarth & Adolph Einspruch owned and operated Ritz Delicatessen - a bakery, deli, and kosher goods store - for 25 years, from 1946-1971. At the time of retirement, they boasted over 800 customers daily, and were said to have introduced Dallas to the corned beef sandwich.
-
Milliners Supply
Located at 911 North Elm, Milliners Supply was once a tool and supply store for creating hats. When the business opened its doors in 1911 the Hirsch family were not likely to anticipate the store would be operational for over 90 years.
-
Benno's Buttons
Located at 911 North Elm, Milliners Supply was once a tool and supply store for creating hats. When the business opened its doors in 1911 the Hirsch family were not likely to anticipate the store would be operational for over 90 years.
-
Page Boy Maternity
Located at 911 North Elm, Milliners Supply was once a tool and supply store for creating hats. When the business opened its doors in 1911 the Hirsch family were not likely to anticipate the store would be operational for over 90 years.
-
Temple Emanu-El - Field & Commerce (Original Location)
Temple Emanu-El, one of the oldest Jewish congregations in Dallas, has had many homes over the years. It's first at Field (then Church) & Commerce Streets in Downtown Dallas.
-
Rudberg Jewelers
Temple Emanu-El, one of the oldest Jewish congregations in Dallas, has had many homes over the years. It's first at Field (then Church) & Commerce Streets in Downtown Dallas.
-
Lorch Company
The Lorch Company was founded in 1909 by August Lorch, who got his start as a travelling peddler of dry-goods and women's apparel. In the 1920s, Lester Lorch joined the business and the Lorch Company expanded to include manufacturing to its retail repertoire.
-
New York Manufacturing Company
New York Manufacturing Company was a wholesale goods provider, focusing in home and kitchen wares. They conducted business throughout Texas with a Dallas location at 1110 Commerce, which is now Belo Garden.
-
Sweet Manufacturing
Sweet Manufacturing was a wholesale goods provider focusing in menswear - specifically sport shirts and neckwear. They were in operation during the 1940s-1950s and were located at 1100 Commerce, which is now the Earle Cabell Federal Building.
-
Sunny South Fashions
Sunny South Fashions was a women's clothing retailer and manufacturer headquartered here in Dallas. They had a location at 903 Commerce, as well as a second location at 1111 S Beckley.
In early Dallas, residents lived and worked close to the courthouse and town square, near the Trinity River, most living in either hotels or boarding houses. With the growth of the population and expansion of businesses, residential areas developed both north and east of the downtown area. The Cedars, another residential development, began southward in the 1860s. Until the 1880s, most Jews lived close to their businesses in downtown Dallas, some living behind or over “the store.” These earliest Jewish residents of Dallas were primarily German Jews who came with a strong desire to make a success of their new lives in America. The downtown Dallas area became home to many Jewish merchants, the largest of whom became known as the “merchant princes,” including Alex & Philip Sanger, Edward Titche, Max Goettinger, E.M. Kahn, A. Harris, and more. Businesses sold staple and fancy dry goods, groceries, ready-made clothing, textiles and more, while those with more specific trades opened tailor shops, bakeries and other businesses. Dallas also had a cotton economy, with the largest inland cotton market in the country by 1918, and many businesses depended on the cotton trade.