Milliners Supply

Located at 911 North Elm, Milliners Supply was once a tool and supply store for creating hats. When the business opened its doors in 1911 the Hirsch family were not likely to anticipate the store would be operational for over 90 years. The store closed officially in 2005 and the building is at risk for demolition, though Dallas Historical Society is working with the historical commission to designate the site as a historical landmark. The photo accompanied by a brief article and the headline “Dallas’s Disappearing Architectural Heritage,” is from the Dallas Historical Society publication Legacies, Volume 9, Number 2, Fall 1997, and is dated c. 1880.