Topletz House

Topletz House, on the north side of Forest Ave (now St. Martin’s Place) is a beautiful intact brick home of one of the large Jewish families in South Dallas. The Topletz family was one of the older and more distinguished Jewish families in Dallas history. They settled in Dallas prior to 1907 and were lifelong members of Congregation Shearith Israel.

The Topletz House was originally the Friedman Mansion. Dr. Friedman was a noted physician who sold the mansion to the Topletz family in 1923. The Topletz family built their wealth through real estate. The area was the neighborhood of prominent Jewish families such as Stanley Marcus (Neiman Marcus), the Zale family (Zales Jewelry), the Linz family (Linz Jewelry), the Segal family (Segal Liquors), etc.

Built in the early 1900’s and listed in the National Register of Historic Places, the historical home is now known as Saint Martin’s Place, an event venue, and has been updated to capture the early 20th century character to suit our more contemporary times.