South Dallas

Before Preston Hollow became the hub of Dallas’ Jewish population, South Dallas included one of the largest Jewish settlements in the Southern United States. Neighbors often walked to Tiferet Israel together and there was a concerntration of Jewish owned businesses. Forest Avenue, which is now called Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard, was both a lynch pin and a dividing line between in the neighborhood. Prominent families in the area include the Sangers, Schepps, Freidmans, Goldins, Silvergolds. These families ran bakeries, department stores, and other businesses that influenced and propelled Jewish life throughout Dallas. Jews began migrating north in the 1940s and 50s, due to changing demographics and social climates, as well as construction that physically separated the neighborhood. After WWII, Dallas residents began expanding into the suburbs to get more “bang for their buck.”

  • Forest Theater

    The 1,500-seat Forest Theatre has served as a cinema, a club, a concert hall and even a temporary synagogue in the mid-1950s.

  • Congregation Agudas Achim

    Congregants began meeting in a feed store at Holmes and Pennsylvania and moved to a home purchased by the congregation on Forest Ave. and Wendelkin Street in 1925.

  • Arbeiter Ring Shul

    The social fraternity was started by Eastern European immigrant Jews to promote Yiddish culture.

  • South Boulevard/Park Row

    South Boulevard - Park Row became recognized as a nationally registered historic neighborhood in 1979.

  • Colonial School

    Colonial School (now MLK, Jr. Learning Center) 1817 Warren Ave. elementary school attended by many Jewish children in the South Dallas neighborhood from the 1920s to the 1950s.

  • Topletz House

    The Topletz family was one of the older and more distinguished Jewish families in Dallas history.

  • Hebrew School of Dallas

    A multi-congregational after-school religious school.

  • John Henry Brown Elementary School

    The school was founded in 1912 by the Dallas Independent School District and named for John Henry Brown.

  • Congregation Tiferet Israel

    Tiferet Israel's South Dallas building still stands and is now an artist's studio.

  • Shearith Israel Cemetery

    The Shearith Israel Cemetery accepted its first burial in 1881.